Johnny Depp, Garance Dore, Scott Schuman to be Honored at 2012 CFDA Awards

March 15, 2012


The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA), today, announced the nominees for 2012 CFDA Fashion Awards, to be held June 4th at Lincoln Center, hosted by Saturday Night Live head writer and anchor, Seth Myers.  This year’s awards ceremony will be part of the CFDA’s 50th Anniversary celebrations.

Swarovski, a partner of the awards will also be celebrating 11 fruitful years with the CFDA and will present honorary awards.  For the first time, bloggers will be presented wtih an award.  Blogging dynamos Scott Schuman of the Sartorialist and his girlfriend Garance Dore, will jointly receive the Media Award.  Johnny Depp will be honored with the Fashion icon Award. Below is the list of all the nominees and honorary award recipients.

Women’ s wear Designer of The Year:
– The Row
– Proenza Schouler
– Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of The Year:
– Simon Spurr
– Patrik Ervell
– Billy Reid

Accessory Designer of The Year:
– Alexander Wang
– Proenza Schouler
– Reed Krakoff

Swarovski Award for Women’s wear:
– Joseph Altuzarra
– Creatures of the Wind

Swarovski Award for Menswear:
– Antonio Azzuolo
– Todd Snyder
– Phillip Lim

Swarovski Award for Accessory Designer:
– Irene Neuwirth
– Tabitha Simmons
– Pamela Love

The Swarovski Award recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Tommy Hilfiger.

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, the influential journalist who revolutionized fashion reporting with her reports in the New York City Herald Tribune, will be given to Scott Schuman & Garance Doré.

The Fashion Icon Award will given to Johnny Depp, the first male recipient to receive the award, for his personal and eclectic sense of style.

The Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map, will go to Andrew Rosen.

The International Award will go to Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garçons for making an outstanding creative contribution to the world of fashion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Glamazon Diaries is a style and travel site founded in 2007 to inspire the modern woman, with a feminine and adventurous point of view.

As a tastemaker and body positive advocate, Makeda shows her readers of all shapes and sizes how to dress for their shape without breaking the bank. She combines luxury and high street brands into every looks to make style accessible to all. 


      AUTUMN stylebook

Bundling up for fall doesn't mean hiding our outfits and it need not be boring either. Peruse some of my favorite looks I've styled for inspiration to zhuzh up your wardrobe.

© Glamazon Diaries 2022

error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!